Monday, Wash Day

It’s Monday and for us that means lots of laundry to wash. When I went out to the garage to start my first load, I remembered that I am out of laundry detergent.  I had made a trial batch of homemade laundry detergent a couple of months ago and it seemed to clean the clothes just fine, so today I made my second batch. According to the website where I got my recipe, it costs about 5 cents a load to use a TBSP of this homemade detergent–but about 21 cents a load to use the recommended amount of a big brand name. Well, I tried it and it works!

I was AFRAID to use a non-HE (high efficiency) detergent in my front-loader but I read online that the KEY point is that the detergent must be LOW SUDS. Well, thankfully, that’s what this recipe makes!

Three ingredients. Quick. Simple. Here’s what you do: Finely grate a bar of laundry soap (I used white Zote laundry soap but I only used a half of a 14.1 oz bar) and mix it into 1 cup of b

this may brighten my wash day blues

orax (I used 20 Mule Team) and 1 cup of washing soda (I used Arm & Hammer; note that washing soda is not the same as baking soda). Place in a container, throw in an old Tablespoon measure and you’re ready!

Mom and I both liked the fresh and clean smell of the Zote soap. It is made in Mexico. I read that you can use the soap of your choice. I am quite sensitive to fragrances and you’ll usually find me itching my nose or sneezing in the soap isle at the store. One of these days, I want to try this recipe using a handcrafted soap.

Sure, I ought to spend some time calculating how much it cost me to make this. I paid $3.38 for a box of borax and $3.24 for a box of washing soda at Wal-Mart. I will get several batches from this supply so it is easy to see that I will be saving. Yes, I have forgotten how much the Zote soap costs, so I will make note of that when I go shopping again next month.

I found this homemade detergent recipe at diynatural.com. You’ll also find instructions for liquid detergents but they are much more time-consuming to make. Though I had always used a commercial liquid detergent, I am satisfied with my simple powdered homemade detergent.

Leave a Reply

