Who’s watching you?

We had leftover pizza for dinner last night. The pizza served its purpose. But, what I really had wanted to do with the pizza was to throw it out! It was a take-and-bake type of pizza and it hadn’t been that great the first time around because it was tasteless. (Mom thought that perhaps the salt had been left out of the crust.) The mushroom pizza was bland even after we added some broccoli, black olives and tomatoes.

But Mom is here AND I am trying to be more thrifty by being accountable through this blog. Mom would NOT have thrown it out. I thought, “I can’t throw all this leftover pizza out because Mom is watching me!” Seriously, that crossed my mind. And, you know what? The pizza was actually much tastier as leftovers. I heated it in the oven on a hot baking stone so it was melty and crispy.

Which got me to thinking….Who’s watching me? Besides Mom, there is Husband and Little Daughter. IMPRESSIONS. I am making impressions on my family members as I make decisions and take actions throughout the day. All these decisions coalesce into a picture of WHAT? Does the picture show a wasteful and, therefore, ungrateful wife? (My husband works at a challenging job and it was money out of his paycheck that bought that pizza. Am I showing that I appreciate that he continues to struggle at work so that he can provide for his family?) What habits am I teaching Little Daughter? Does the picture show a mom who won’t accept less than the best and, therefore, is prideful? (Do I think I have a right to eat at a 5-star restaurant or, at least, that I deserve more than a bland pizza? Or do I acknowledge that God is my Provider and He has chosen to bless me with a meal, whereas, in His sovereignty, He has also chosen that some Believers will go without a meal today?)

And then there is GOD. How I forget that His eyes are always on me! I went to the Scriptures and easily found four verses about this.

Deut 13:18 

“…do what is right in the eyes of the LORD your God.”

2 Chron 16:9a

“For the eyes of the LORD run to and fro throughout the whole earth,

to show Himself strong on behalf of those whose heart is loyal to Him.”

Psalm 11:4

“The LORD is in His holy temple,

The LORD’s throne is in heaven;

His eyes behold, His eyelids test the sons of men.”

Prov 15:3

“The eyes of the LORD are in every place,

Keeping watch on the evil and the good.”

Don’t you love the Scriptures? What an attentive Lord we serve! A hymn is running through my head as I write. “His eye is on the sparrow and I know He’s watching me.” I’m not suggesting that it would be a sin to throw out a bland pizza. God is always concerned with the hearts of man. Our actions result from what’s going on in our hearts. A Biblical example of active frugality with food is shown in the Gospel account of the multiplying of the loaves and fishes. See Matthew 14:20. Here we read that the disciples, “took up twelve baskets full of the fragments that remained.” Wow! It was a simple meal of bread and dried fish, eaten by five thousand men (and their families), until they all were filled. The effort of picking up this much leftover food surely indicates that it wasn’t going to be fed to the birds!

In thinking further about what was going on in my heart about this leftover pizza, I see that I was motivated by “what Mom might think” rather than what would please God. I want to please GOD with how I live my life. Maybe next time, I will give thanks with a grateful heart.

Who is watching you?

Leave a Reply

