Day 5: Month of Thankfulness

We found the loveliest spot for our nature outing today. All those from the homeschool co-op who joined in had a wonderful time. Being out in God’s creation makes it easy to think of things for which I can be grateful.

I am thankful, first off, for such a warm and clear day, though it is November. No need for jackets at all! I was also thrilled to stand in front of the giant bamboo forest. The creek made a delightful trickling noise. I spotted a bush full of tiny luminous red berries–What a color, with the sun shining through the berries so that we could see the little seeds inside! And, I am thankful for the friends that walked the trail with us and the little friends who ran ahead with my daughter and played Poohsticks with her on the bridge over the creek. A delight!

“Lord, you are truly full of wonders! Your creative hand blessed me today as I walked through a garden of greenery and fall color. Thank you for the perfect weather, the creek, the bamboo, the red berries, and the friends who enjoyed it all with us. I am so grateful that you have preserved some beauty for us here, even though this is a fallen world. Amen.”

 

Note: Rules for Poohsticks can be found in A.A. Milne’s The House at Pooh Corner, chapter six: “In Which Pooh Invents a New Game and Eeyore Joins In.”

Leave a Reply

